So the state of Arizona recently passed a law that makes it a state-level crime (i.e., enforceable by local and state police) to be in this country illegally.  This has stirred up a lot of controversy, and made a lot of people pretty upset.  I don’t normally get involved in political discussions, but this is something I have a pretty strong opinion about, so I thought I’d throw my 2 cents in there.

Let me just start by saying that I’m about as far from being racist as you can get. I don’t care what color your skin is, where you live, or where you were born. I prefer to judge people based on what they’ve done, not what they look like or where they came from. So I have absolutely no problem with people from Mexico. And I have no problem with people from Mexico coming to live in America. This is the land of opportunity, the greatest country in the world, and I can’t blame anyone for wanting to live here. Besides, diversity is what makes this country great–the Great American Melting Pot, and all that.

The thing is, we have a system in place that lets people live, work, and and take part in all of the awesomeness that we enjoy in America… and do it LEGALLY. Plenty of people come to this country the legal way, but so many prefer to completely spit in the face of our laws by sneaking across the border. And now illegal immigrants all across Arizona, and the entire country, are staging protests against this law. This just seems wrong to me. You want to reap the benefits of what makes this country so great, but in doing so, you ignore our laws and basically give our entire legal system the middle finger, and then when we try to enforce those laws that you’re knowingly breaking, you are outraged. Maybe I’m wrong for saying this, but living in this country is NOT a right–it’s a privilege. America doesn’t owe you anything, and if you aren’t even supposed to be here, you don’t really have a leg to stand on in becoming outraged and demanding “justice” when America tries to enforce its own laws.

But illegal immigrants’ reaction isn’t the only one that irritates me. The federal government’s feelings are hurt too. See, the feds have their own law on the books that’s very similar to Arizona’s new law. The only difference being that Arizona is taking their version of the law to a ridiculous extreme and actually, y’know, enforcing it. So the federal government has its collective panties in a wad and is claiming in a federal lawsuit that the Arizona’s law is “unconstitutional because it usurps federal authority to protect U.S. borders and American citizens.” Sorry feds, but I’ve got to side with Arizona on this one–if you guys aren’t doing your job, don’t get upset when somebody else does it for you!! They’ve failed to protect U.S. borders, they’ve failed to protect American citizens… I think it’s time to step off and let someone else give it a shot.

I’ve heard people claim that this law is somehow racist. This whole idea blows my mind. This law has nothing against Mexicans, or even Mexican immigrants. The only people targeted by this law are illegal immigrants. It’s not about getting Mexicans out of America, it’s about securing our borders–simple as that. This shouldn’t even be an issue. There is no reason that our country shouldn’t be able to take reasonable action to keep undocumented aliens from crossing our borders. It’s an issue of homeland security, not racism or discrimination.

Bottom line–if you don’t want to be targeted by this law in Arizona, don’t be in Arizona illegally. That’s really all I can say about that.

