Week 1, Day 2:
2 days down, 58 to go

I had forgotten what pain was. I had forgotten what it was like to wake up in the morning to the feeling of your body screaming “WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO ME?!”  Well, I was reminded today when I woke up and tried to move. The soreness hit me like a ton of bricks as soon as I opened my eyes. But it’s all right… to be honest, I kind of like the feeling. It reminds me how hard I worked.

I didn’t really like that feeling when I turned on today’s INSANITY workout, though. This one is called Pure Cardio, and it is tough. Not that the others aren’t, but this one is different. Where the other workouts use interval training, which breaks up the periods of intense exercise with short rests every few minutes, Pure Cardio is 15 straight minutes of hell. You work out at the same intensity, doing the same exercises as the interval training, but without the convenient breaks every few minutes.

One thing I realized today is that I need new shoes. With all the jumping and leaping involved in these exercises, my year-old $20 WalMart running shoes just aren’t cutting it. I’ve got the beginning of a blister on my left foot, but it’s all good. That was far from the only pain I was feeling for those 40 minutes (10 for the warmup, 10 for the stretch, 15 for the actual workout, and a 5 minute cool down stretch), and if I can work through the pain everywhere else in my body, I can work through a little pain in my foot.

Overall, today’s was a pretty good workout. Just to let you know where I’m coming from, I consider a workout “good” if it leaves me collapsed in a pathetic, sobbing heap on the floor in a pool of my own sweat and tears, and today’s workout did just that.

