I just finished day 3 of my INSANITY workouts, and let me tell you, I am feeling it. I can’t find the DVD for the workout I was supposed to do today, so I just repeated the workout from day 1, Plyometric Cardio Circuit. What’s cool is that I can tell it’s getting a little easier (“a little” being the key word). I made it through all 10 minutes of the warm-up without taking a break. This is the first time I’ve been able to do that since starting back, so I was pretty happy about that. The past 2 days, I’ve had to extend the water breaks from 30 seconds to a minute after each set, but today I made it through two sets before I had to take a longer break. Baby steps, I know, but it’s an accomplishment for me. I’m looking at this in a positive way: if I’m making this kind of progress this early on, imagine what sort of performance I’ll be seeing in a week, or a month, or 57 days from now when I’m done with this insanity (pun intended).

One thing I’ve noticed is that I haven’t seemed to have much energy since I started. I think part of the problem is that not long before I started this workout program, I decided to try to eat less, so I might not be eating enough food to keep my body fueled for this. I need to start eating 6 small meals per day… I’ve done that before, and I always have a lot more energy when I do. Since I got paid today (yay!), I think I’ll run to WalMart tonight and pick up some protein bars to eat for snacks in between meals. I’ve also cut way back on the amount of soda I’ve been drinking… I think my body is missing its fix of caffeine, which is probably making me more tired. The problem is, my solution to that is usually to drink a Dr Pepper or a Mountain Dew to help keep me awake through the wee hours of the morning at work. Maybe eating 6 times a day will give me more energy so I won’t be tempted to do that anymore.

Oh, I’ve got some “before” pictures that I took the day I started… I’ve been meaning to upload them, but I keep forgetting. I know everybody wants to see that. I want to take pictures every 2 weeks or so to prove that I’m making some real progress.

