If there’s one thing I can’t stand, it’s people who complain all the time. You know who I’m talking about: those folks who never have anything positive to say about anything, but feel the need to chime in at any given time about how terrible their lives are. Odds are you know at least a few of these people. You might even be one, for all I know. But every time I hear one of these people talk, this is all I see:

WAAAAHHHH!

Now, don’t get me wrong – everybody needs to vent a little sometimes. I’m not comparing everyone who ever complains about anything to a whiny baby. I’m talking about people who do nothing but complain, all the time. Take Facebook, for instance. I’m sure you’ve got people on your list who you can count on to be whining about something every time they post a status update. I’m sorry, but the fact is, no one wants to read that! It’s one thing to post the occasional gripe about something that’s bothering you, but when every single update has to do with what a terrible time you have going through life, people stop caring. Maybe I’m just insensitive, but I have de-friended people who did nothing but post whiny Facebook statuses, because I just flat-out got sick of listening to them.

After a certain point, I have absolutely no sympathy. I know that sounds mean, but here’s why. As Americans, we have SO MUCH to be thankful for. We live in one of the richest countries on the planet, and even the poorest people here have it better than most people in other parts of the world. We have clean running water, we have access to excellent medical care, we have effective police and fire protection, and we live in a country where we have the freedom to say, think, believe, and do whatever we want to do. There are millions of people in the world who can’t say that. So many people are living in poverty, literally starving to death, or living under oppressive, tyrannical governments where they have no rights whatsoever. So yeah, we’ve got it pretty darn good.

Look, I don’t claim to know anyone else’s life, and I know there are plenty of people around here who have it a lot tougher than I do. I’m not trying to downplay anybody’s hardships. Everybody has problems, and everybody needs a shoulder to cry on from time to time. But in general, what’s important is how you handle your problems. You can either whine and complain all day about how tough your life is, or you can grow a pair, suck it up, and deal with it! I know plenty of people whose lives really do suck, and they don’t sit around moping and whining all day.

You’re not solving anything by dwelling on your problems, so why not focus on what you’ve got going for you and use that to fix your problems? Quit complaining about how the glass is half empty, and just drink the water already! And if your problem is not something that you can fix, then you might as well just be a man (or a woman) and deal with it, because there’s no sense in complaining about it, now is there? Life is way too short to let ourselves be consumed by all the problems that we have, so deal with your problems and enjoy life. I think we could all benefit from focusing a little less on what’s going wrong in our lives, and a little more on what’s going right. Seriously, count your blessings!

So to all you habitual whiners out there, next time you’re thinking about reminding everybody on Facebook why they should feel sorry for you, why not post about something good in your life instead? Trust me – it will make you happier, and will probably make people less likely to block you. Just sayin’.

Anyway, thanks for letting me take a few minutes to whine about whiners. I hope you enjoyed reading this. If you did not, I suggest you go on Facebook and complain about it.

