Yesterday was Day 5 of Insanity, and let me tell you… this one was tough. I found the DVD I had been missing, called Cardio Power and Resistance, and part of me is a little upset that I found it.

From the very beginning, I could tell this workout was gonna be bad. The warm-up begins like normal, with 30 seconds of jogging in place, but after that, rather than 30 seconds of jumping jacks like in the other workouts, this one goes into power jacks, which are essentially jumping jacks, but you go into a low squat position every time your arms are down. Later on in the warm-up, where the other workouts have you doing an exercise called mummy kicks (you hold your arms out parallel to the floor and alternate one hand above the other, while alternating kicking forward with your left and right feet… yeah, it’s tough to explain), this one has vertical jumps, which are exactly what they sound like: you bend at the knees and jump as high as you can, then repeat for 30 seconds. It’s tougher than it sounds.

Anyway, the point is this workout kicked my butt. I know I said that the other ones kicked my butt, but that was before I did Cardio Power & Resistance. I mean it this time – this one REALLY kicked my butt. It’s all about power, and exercises that are designed to build power are tough. Very tough. A lot of them involved jumping from a squat position, and I don’t know if you’ve ever tried this, but it hurts… a lot. It’s a good hurt, the type that lets you know how hard you’re working, but it still hurts.

There was also a lot of upper body work involved, especially variations of push-ups. There’s the moving push-up (with each rep, you use your arms to sort of crawl to the left, then back to the right), the V push-up (your butt is way up in the air so your body is shaped like a V, and you do the push-ups with your fingers facing each other to work your shoulders), and the ball push-up (you curl into a weird shaped ball and do push-ups to work your triceps). It’s more upper body than I’ve gotten used to doing with Insanity, but it still feels good. Well, it feels good now… at the time, I wanted to die a little bit.

So I managed to survive this workout, but barely. I did it last night around 9, but my legs and arms still feel a little weak. But it’s okay, I don’t mind it. It just shows me how hard I worked last night. I may be sore, but I’m looking forward to today’s workout – after this, I get an off day!

