I’m gonna be perfectly honest here – I’m not sure what day I’m on. I think this is technically the first day of week 2, but I”m not exactly following the schedule to the letter. I know I’ve been slacking on the updates, but I’ve done a few workouts since the last time I posted an update. Updating my blog after every workout seems to be getting a little excessive, so I think I’m gonna back it off to every few days.

So about today’s workout. I did Plyometric Cardio Circuit, which is actually kind of fun. After the warm-up and stretch, it starts with Suicide Drills, which basically involves running a few steps in one direction, bending down and touching the floor, then running back the other direction and doing it again. After that, it’s Power Squats, which involve going down to a squat position, then jumping back up to a standing position. Those are tough on the ol’ thighs. After the Power Squats, it’s Mountain Climbers. For these, you alternate reaching your hands up while lifting your knees at the same time, almost like you’re climbing a mountain (hence the name). After you get to the top of the mountain, you get to ski down to the bottom, with the aptly named Ski Downs. These have you jump from side to side while moving your arms back behind you like you’re using ski poles. You do those 4 exercises, get a much-needed 30 second break, then repeat the whole set two more times.

After that, you start the second set. This starts with Basketball Drills, where you bend down at the knees and mime picking up a basketball and making a jump shot. Next are Level 1 Drills, which I hate. You start from a standing position, go down to a push-up position, do 4 push-ups, followed by 8 floor sprints, then you stand up and start the whole thing over. If I didn’t already mention it, I HATE these. After those horrible drills, you go into Ski Abs. You start in a push-up position, then you bend your knees and jump your legs from side to side (if that makes any sense at all). After that are In-And-Outs, which start from the same push-up position, then have you jump your legs right up underneath your body, like you’re about to stand up. This whole set is awful… but in a good way. You do three sets of those four workouts with a water break in between each. At the end of the third set, you go straight into a few upper body exercises, like jabs, uppercuts, that sort of thing. After being in the push-up position for so long, those arm workouts are tough.

Including the 10 minutes of hell that they call a warm-up, the stretch, the actual workout, and the cool down stretch, it’s about 40 minutes. I had Insanity going on the TV with the Braves game on the Picture in Picture. The game went into extra innings, and having something exciting to watch made my workout go by pretty fast. Sadly, the Braves lost 6-4 to the Padres in 12 innings, but it was a good game. It was a great workout, too. I haven’t really been keeping up with my weight or my measurements, but I’m starting to see a difference. It looks like I’m slimming down a bit, and I’m starting to see a little muscle definition in my arms. Rock on.

