In case the title didn’t tip you off, I’m trying to get into photography. I’ve always been interested in taking pictures, but I just recently decided to get serious about learning how to go beyond just pointing and shooting. So, armed with my fancy Canon Rebel dSLR camera (it looks like this, if you care), I’ve begun my journey into the world of photography. And I thought, hey, wouldn’t it be great if I could share my pictures with all my adoring fans? And then I thought, hey, wouldn’t it be great if I had adoring fans?

But I digress. Anyway, I thought I’d post some of my pictures on here so you guys can critique them, give me some pointers, or, preferably, just tell me how awesome I am and then send me money. I’ve set up an account on Flickr, a website for sharing pictures. Here’s a link to my page… feel free to take a look, or add me as a friend and maybe we can share pictures and stuff.

So, without further ado, here’s my first batch of pictures. They were taken yesterday, in my backyard. The flowers are courtesy of my wonderful girlfriend Stephanie, who I put in charge of beautifying my patio. I think she’s doing a killer job of it, as you’ll see. I used an aperture around f/5.6 with a pretty slow shutter speed for most of these. They were all done on manual mode, using manual focus. I’m trying to practice without using all the handy automatic modes. If you know your photography stuff and want to see the specifics of what settings I used, check out the pictures on Flickr (you can click on each of the pictures to go right to their Flickr page). It’s got all the EXIF info listed with each picture (hit the Action button above the pic and click “View Exif Info” in the dropdown menu). As you’ll see, I even tried my hand at some fancy editing techniques on one of the pictures.


I think this one is kinda cool. I used Photoshop to get the partial black and white effect. I think it emphasizes the colors of the flower... or something like that.

So there you go… my first attempt at serious photography. What do you think? I’m open to all sorts of feedback, criticism, etc… and if there’s anything you’d like to see me take some pictures of, shoot me a request and I’ll try my hand at it.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/joes-place/

